Defensive Player-of-the-Year: Ryan Kerrigan

After being named a first-team American Football Coaches Association All-American in the morning, Boilermaker defensive end Ryan Kerrigan was named consensus Big Ten Defensive Player-of-the-Year this evening.
Coming off a season in which he led the nation with 26 tackles for loss, led the Big Ten with 12-and-a-half sacks and tied the NCAA's all-time record for forced fumbles, Kerrigan became Purdue's first Big Ten Player-of-the-Year since Jeff Zgonina in 1992.
Kerrigan, obviously, was named first-team All-Big Ten for Purdue, which finished 4-8.
Second-team Purdue honorees included defensive tackle Kawann Short and freshman cornerback Ricardo Allen, both by the media.
Allen, linebacker Dwayne Beckford and kicker Carson Wiggs were honorable mention picks by the coaches.
The media chose as honorable mention picks tight end Kyle Adams; offensive linemen Peters Drey, Dennis Kelly and Ken Plue; and kickers Cody Webster and Wiggs.