Spring honorees, 2009 captains announced

Sunday afternoon, Purdue named both its spring award winners and its captains for the 2009 season.
The Boilermakers will have a large class of captains, four of them being fifth-year seniors and another a sixth-year senior.
Those voted captains were quarterback Joey Elliott, center Jared Zwilling, linebacker Jason Werner, safety Torri Williams (the sixth-year senior) and defensive tackle Mike Neal.
Neal also won the Hammer Award, given to the spring's biggest hitter.
Zwilling and defensive end Ryan Kerrigan earned Pit Bull awards for tenacious play.
The Newcomer awards went to redshirt freshmen Caleb TerBush and Kawann Short, a quarterback and defensive tackle, respectively.
Lastly, those named most improved for the spring were sophomore cornerback Charlton Williams and redshirt freshman guard Rick Schmeig.
Purdue wrapped up spring practice with its scrimmage Saturday.